2017 Award Winner Profiles

Haley Barlett, Regina Borowska Scolarship

Haley is currently an RPN working in Maternal-Newborn Care while pursuing her BScN at Centennial College/Ryerson University.

Read more: Haley Bartlett


Caitlin Brydges, Toronto General Hospital SoN Alumnae Association Scholarship

Caitlin Brydges is currently enrolled in the McMaster BScN program at the Conestoga Campus in Kitchener.

Read more: Caitlin Brydges

Jamie Dawdy, Prenatal and Parenthood Services Educational Scholarship 

Jamie Dawdy is a PhD student at McMaster University School of Nursing where she received the 2016 Michael G. DE Groote Doctoral Scholarship of Excellence Award.

Read more: Jamie Dawdy

Sadie Falcon, RNFOO Infection Prevention and Control Scholarship

Sadie Falcon is a Lakehead University HABSc graduate from Orillia and Thunder Bay who has a passion for helping others.

Read more: Sadie Falcon

Leah Gaufo, Regina Borowska Scholarship

Leah Gaufo is a full-time student at York University in the BScN for Internationally-Educated Nurses.

Read more: Leah Gaufo

Kimberley Hamilton, Regina Borowska Scholarship

Kimberley Hamilton is a RPN from Oakville Trafalgar Memorial Hospital Emergency Department, who is currently pursuing her BScN at McMaster University.

Read more: Kimberley Hamilton

Aafreen Hassan, Diabetes Nursing Interest Group Scholarship

Aafreen Hassan recognizes the climbing rates of people living with diabetes, so has focused her nursing work in diabetes prevention.

Read more: Aafreen Hassan

Mandeep Kaur, Regina Borowska Scholarship

Mandeep Kaur is a fourth year Bachelor of Nursing student in the Humber/University of New Brunswick, RPN to BN Bridging Program.

Read more: Mandeep Kaur

Paula Kho, Regina Borowska Scholarship

Paula Kho is an internationally-educated nurse completing the Post-Diploma BScN at Ryerson University.

Read more: Paula Kho

Angela Koipuram, Diabetes Nursing Interest Group Research Award

Angela Koipuram is a medical/surgical nurse currently in her second year of the MScN Thesis-based Program at McMaster University.

Read more: Angela Koipuram

Soonji Kwon, RNFOO Undergraduate Scholarship

Soonji Kwon is a 1st year student in the second entry BScN Program at the University of Toronto.

Read more: Soonji Kwon

Katelyn Labrosse, RNFOO Tribute Award

Katelyn Labrosse is a third-year nursing student at McMaster University with a minor in Psychology focusing on child development and human psychology.

Read more: Katelyn Labrosse


Daniel Law, Mary Brunning Harkin Scholarship

Daniel Law is currently in the final year of the BScN Program at York University.

Read more: Daniel Law

Lory Lee, Julie Hall Scholarship for Neuroscience Nursing

Lory Lee is an MN student in the Health Systems Leadership and Administration program at the University of Toronto.

Read more: Lory Lee

Tierney Lunney, Dr. Joan Lesmond Memorial Scholarship

Tierney Lunney is a graduate student in her second year if the MN - Nurse Practitioner Primary Health Care-Global Health program at University of Toronto.

Read more: Tierney Lunney

Remar Mangaoil, Ontario Nursing Informatics Group Scholarship

Remar Mangaoil is a first year doctoral student at the Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing, and a Senior Manager of Clinical Operations and Practice at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH).

Read more: Remar Mangaoil

Nima Nur, RPNAO - Post RPN Program Award

Nima Nur is in her final year of the BScN program at Ryerson University.

Read more: Nima Nur

Elizabeth Orr, Maternal Child Nurses Interest Group Scholarship - Doctorate 

Elizabeth Orr is a PhD Student at the McMaster University School of Nursing.

Read more: Elizabeth Orr

Sally Remus, Ontario Nursing Informatics Group Scholarship

Sally Remus is an accomplished nurse leader with diverse career experiences in health services, private business and government.

Read more: Sally Remus

Piraveena Sivapatham, TGH SoN Alumnae Association  Scholarship

Piraveena Sivapatham is in her final year of the second-entry BScN program at the University of Toronto; her previous degree is in Life Sciences from McMaster University.

Read more: Piraveena Sivapatham

Alexis Smith, Dorothy Monteith Scholarship

Alexis Smith is currently an MScN candidate at Western University, pursuing studies in the Leadership in Health Services Delivery stream.

Read more: Alexis Smith

Lihn Tran, TGH SoN Alumnae Association  Scholarship

Lihn Tran will graduate from the BScN program at Western University this spring.

Read more: Linh Tran


Cathy Tran, RNFOO Undergraduate Scholarship

Cathy Tran is a first year student in the Scholar Practitioner Program at Nipissing University.

Read more: Cathy Tran

Kayleigh Tyrer, TGH SoN Alumnae Association  Scholarship

Kayleigh Tyrer is a third year BScN student at the Brock University with clinical interest in maternal-child nursing.

Read more: Kayleigh Tyrer


Cynthia Unitas, TGH SoN Alumnae Association  Scholarship

Cynthia Unitas received her Bachelor of Science in Honours Life Science with Distinction from McMaster University.

Read more: Cynthia Unitas

Kay Valle, Provincial Nurse Educators Interest Group Research Award 

Kay Vallee received her Nursing Diploma from Sault College, her BScN, and MScN degrees from Western University.

Read more: Kay Valle

Sanja Vesekruna, Margaret Myers Diabetes Clinical Practice Award

Sanja Visekruna is a PhD candidate at the Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing at the University of Toronto.

Read more: Sanja Vesekruna


Angel Wang, Provincial Nurse Educators Interest Group Scholarship

Angel Wang is an RN and a graduate student at Ryerson University.

Read more: Angel Wang


Danny Wang, RNFOO Infection Prevention & Control Scholarship

Danny Wang is a second Entry Nursing Student enrolled at York University.

Read more: Danny Wang


Carly Whitmore, Dorothy Ferguson Scholarship

Carly Whitmore is a Certified Psychiatric and Mental Health Registered Nurse who works for St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton as an educator.

Read more: Carly Whitmore

Yvonne Wigboldus, Saint Elizabeth Health Care Scholarship

Yvonne Wigboldus works as a Community Health Nurse in a First Nations community while completing her degree at Ryerson University.

Read more: Yvonne Wigboldus

Amy Wright, Prenatal & Parenthood Research Award

Amy Wright is a Neonatal Nurse Practitioner who began her PhD in Nursing at McMaster University in 2013.


Sarah Xiao, Dr. Hildegard E. Peplau Award (MHNIG)

Sarah Xiao is a third-year PhD student in Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing at the University of Toronto.


Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!