Wound Care Education Team

Wound Care Education

Marian Luctkar-Flude, RN, PhD, CCSNE, Queen's University
Kevin Woo, RN, PhD, Queen's University
Deborah Tregunno, RN, PhD, Queen's University
Jane Tyerman, RN, PhD, CCSNE, University of Ottawa
Barbara Wilson-Keates, RN, PhD, CCSNE, Athabasca University

Queens Award Amount: $15,000

Dr. Marian Luctkar-Flude is an Associate Professor at Queen’s University School of Nursing, Co-President of the Canadian Alliance of Nurse Educators using Simulation (CAN-Sim) and serves on the International Nursing Association for Clinical Simulation and Learning (INACSL) Board of Directors as VP Research. Dr. Luctkar-Flude has extensive experience with high-fidelity patient simulation, interprofessional education and online learning. Her current program of research focuses on virtual simulation game design, presimulation preparation approaches, and faculty development. She was the 2019 recipient of the Principal’s Educational Technology Award at Queen’s University for advancing the use of technology such as virtual simulation games in undergraduate nursing education, and the 2019 CASN Pat Griffin Nursing Education Research Scholar Award.

Dr. Barbara Wilson-Keates is the Academic Coordinator for the Faculty of Health Disciplines at Athabasca University and the VP International for the International Nursing Association of Clinical Simulation and Learning. A experienced educator and clinician, her research program examines the use of simulation as an innovative teaching pedagogy in both real classrooms and clinical as well as online, virtual learning environments. As a national and international researcher and leader in simulation pedagogy, Dr. Wilson-Keates is a known consultant for healthcare providers and faculty on debriefing, scenario scriptwriting, and virtual simulation in online and classroom environments and is a research mentor for clinical educators using hospital-based simulation.

Dr. Kevin Woo is an Associate Professor at Queen’s University, School of Nursing, School of Rehabilitation therapy in Kingston, Ontario.

He is known as a leading Canadian nurse researcher in the areas of wound, ostomy and continence issues and has served on a number of expert panels and advisory boards to develop the Best Practice recommendations. He was also the Early Researcher Award recipient 2014-2019 from the Ministry of Research and Innovation. This award allowed him to lead the development and evaluation of an online community designed to promote self-management of diabetes through peer-to-peer online support. He received the Journal of Wound Care’s the Best Diabetic Foot Ulcer Intervention Award in 2018 for his leadership and contribution to this area of research. In 2020, he received the Order of Merit Award from the Canadian Nurses Association.

For over 20 years Dr. Woo has sustained a prolific research career, focusing on topics such as chronic disease management, knowledge translation and patient safety. He has authored over 130 peer-reviewed journal articles and 19 book chapters. He is the author of Polit & Beck Canadian Essentials of Nursing Research a research text that has been adopted by several nursing schools in Canada. By blending his research with an active clinical practice, he has had an immediate and profound impact on the health of people living in Canada. Kevin is the web editor for the Advances in Skin and Wound Care website. He is the Research and Practice Co-Chair of the Nurses Specialized in Wound, Ostomy & Continence Canada and the Regional North American Director and Research chair of the International Skin Tear Advisory Panel (ISTAP).

Dr. Jane Tyerman is an Assistant Professor at the University of Ottawa in Ottawa, School of Nursing. She has over 25 years of experience in acute care clinical practice and 15 years of academic teaching experience at the graduate and undergraduate levels. Dr. Tyerman has made significant contributions to nursing education by advancing the pedagogy that underpins the effective use of clinical simulation and her innovative use of technology to expand equity and access to high-quality teaching and learning resources. Dedicated to providing faculty development supporting simulation-based learning, she contributed to the development of the CASN Certified Canadian Simulation Nurse Educator (CCSNE) program and instructs course modules focusing on simulation design, evaluation and scholarship. She was the 2019 recipient of the CASN Excellence in Nursing Education (Non-tenured) award and the 2020 INACSL Spirit of Leadership Award. Dr. Tyerman's research and publications focus on nursing simulation design, development, curriculum implementation, and virtual simulation using serious games. Collaborating with nurse educators across Canada and internationally, she has multiple publications related to simulation and virtual simulation games and holds the 2019 Clinical Simulation in Nursing Non-Research Article of the Year. Dr. Tyerman holds numerous grants exploring the impact of virtual simulation games in nursing education on student learning. She is co-PI on a large Health Canada grant in association with the Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing (CASN). Dr. Tyerman, along with Dr. Luctkar-Flude, recently created five bilingual virtual simulation games focusing on Essential COVID-19 Skills for Graduating and New Nurses. She is currently the co-president of the Canadian Alliance of Nursing Educators using Simulation (CAN-Sim). Her expertise has led to the creation of over 40 virtual simulation games. Dr. Tyerman is known for her innovations, collaborations and mentorship, encouraging nurse educators to excel in the delivery of simulation-based education.